Hong Kong is to add 15 nations, including France, Spain and the US, to its list of high-risk countries with the strictest level of quarantine and testing requirements and from which non-residents are unable to enter, according to BTN Europe. From midnight on 20 August, the following countries will be added to the group A list: Bangladesh, Cambodia, France, Greece, Iran, Malaysia, the Netherlands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and the United States of America.

The new countries will join Brazil, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Russia, South Africa and the United Kingdom which are already on the list.

Entry from countries on the list is only open to Hong Kong residents who have been fully vaccinated. Despite the vaccination requirement, travellers must undergo compulsory quarantine for 21 days in a designated quarantine hotel and take four tests during that period.

Non-residents from most other countries can enter Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated, take a PCR test before arrival and spend between seven and 14 days in a designated quarantine hotel.